Our Mission

NYSABA’s mission is to promote and protect the integrity of the science and professional practice of behavior analysis within the State of New York. ​

Our Vision

NYSABA is the voice of the behavior analytic community in New York State.


Our History 

During the 1987 ABAI Convention, three friends and collogues were discussing how they missed the camaraderie, intellectual stimulation and excitement among behavior analysts they had experienced during their graduate days at C.W. Post. It was then David Roll, Bill Bryson-Brockmann and Howard Schneider made the decision to form the New Yorks State Chapter for Behavior Analysis. They gathered a group of local behavior analysts at C.W. Post in January 1989 and wrote a constitution.   There was strong representation from C. W. Post, ACLD, Developmental Disabilities Institute, and Queens College.  On March 29, 1989, NYSABA became an official ABA state chapter.  David Roll, Bill Bryson-Brockmann, Howard Schneider, Deborah Shanley, Paul Luyben, and Darlene Magito-McLaughlin were Founding members. The first NYSABA official chapter meeting was held in October of 1989 and the first conference was held December 9th, 1990, at the Devereux School in Rhinebeck, NY. In 1998, NYSABA became active in the development of behavior analyst certification. Dr. Bobby Newman was the first certified behavior analyst in New York State and he put a tremendous amount of effort into reviewing applications for the exam. Shortly after that the Behavior Analysis Certification Board was incorporated, and all state certifications were transferred to the national organization.  NYSABA is now a dynamic organization, providing advocacy for the profession of behavior analysis for its membership.  


NYSABA'S Leadership Team


2022-2023 Executive Committee


Nancy Dib



Noor Syed

President Elect

Kim Shouman

Kimberly Shamoun


Tricia Moss

Tricia Moss

Past President


Vicki Madaus Knapp


NYSABA'S 2023 Board of Directors

Kozue Matauda

Kozue Matsuda

Representative at Large

Amanda LaPrime

Amanda Laprime

Representative at Large

Ellie Mellon

Leanna Mellon

Membership Committee Chair

Fernande Ikombo-Deguenon

Finance Committee Chair

Rachael Atherley

DEI Committee Chair

Nicole DeRosa

Conference Committee Chair

Kenneth Shamlian

Membership Committee Co-Chair

Deborah Napolitano

Public Policy Committee Co-Chair

Sally M. Izquierdo

Student Activities Committee Chair

Bobbi Rogers

Parent and Family Committee Chair

Melissa Jackson

Conference Committee Co-Chair

Brian Healy

Education Committee Chair

Tina Covington

Marketing Committee Chair

Shannon Carr

Marketing Committee Co-Chair

Maureen O'Grady

Public Policy Committee Chair


NYSABA Administrator

Dave Atkinson

Administrative Assistant

Email: [email protected]



Past Board Members

Members who have been on the board at any point from 2017 through the present can be nominated for open executive board positions (e.g., President-Elect, Secretary)

Alterson, Cindy (2016 & 2017)

Atherley, Rachael (2021-2022)

Blanco, Sam (2017 - 2019)

Cicero, Frank (2011 - 2018)

Covington, Tina (2021-2023)

D'Ateno, Pat (2017 & 2018)

Derosa, Nicole (2015 - 2023)

Dib, Nancy (2016 - 2023)

Drago Elizabeth (2020-2022)

Engheben, Jennifer (2018-2019)

Giangregorio, Michael (2018)

Healy, Brian (2021-2023)

Ikombo-Deguenon, Fernande (2020-2022)

Izquierdo, Sally (2018-2019, 2022-present)

Jackson, Melissa (2021-2023)

Jessel, Joshua (2018 - 2021)

Knapp, Vicki (2011 - 2014, 2019- 2023)

Lesinski, Dan (2012- 2017)

Lombardi, Denise (2014 - 2017)

Matey, Linda (2011-2022)

Mellon, Ellie (2022-present)

Moss-Lourenco, Tricia (2015 - 2023)

Napolitano, Deborah (2011-2017 & 2020-2023)

Narra, Amanda (2018 & 2019)

Newman, Bobby (2014, 2017 - 2020)

O'Grady, Maureen (2020-2023)

Patrone, Vanessa (2018 - 2022)

Pearson, Nicole (2015 - 2017)

Reinecke, Dana (2011, 2013 - 2020)

Rogers, Bobbi (2018 - 2023)

Schatzman, Shari (2015 - 2020)

Shamlian, Kenneth (2019 - 2023)

Shamoun, Kim (2012 - 2017 & 2022-present)

Syed, Noor (2021-present)

Toner, Niall (2013 - 2017)

Walker, Heather (2013 - 2017)